Hailemariam’s 30 ministers are same old but 8 – See the List



Some of the MPs were fast asleep today (Image Courtesy of Yohannes DW -FB)

October 6, 2015

Source: MFA Facebook

After his election yesterday, Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalgen has today introduced 26 of his ministers and four cabinet members with a ministerial portfolio. Four are women. The majority of the appointees hold postgraduate degrees in Leadership but the institutions they have received their certificates from is not mentioned.  His new council has introduced new ministries such as National Planning Commission,  Livestock and Fishery Development, Construction, and Development Enterprises. Most of the ministers of the old cabinet are in the parliament but eight new faces, who have been serving as state ministers or different governmental posts.

All the appointments were accepted by the parliament, which is made up of members who hail from a single party, EPRDF. Unlike the previous parliament, which had one opposition member, the incumbent is fully dominated by members and cognate parties of the EPRDF.

See the list of the Hailemariam’s 2015 council of ministers below



New or Old

Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn   Old
Deputy Prime Minister Demeke Mekonnen Old
Minister of Agriculture Tefera Deribew Old
Deputy PM and Minister of Civil Service, GOOD GOVEERNANCE Aster Mamo Old
Deputy Prime and Minister of Communication and Information Technology Debretsion Gebremichael Old
Minister of Culture and Tourism Aisha Musa     New
Minister of Defense  Siraj Fergesa Old
Minister of Education Shiferaw Shigutie Old
Minister of Environment and Climate Change Shiferaw Tekelemariam New Ministry
Minister of Finance and Economic Cooperation Abdulaziz Ahmed New
Minister of Health Keseteberhan Admasu Old
Minister of Industry Ahmed Abitew Old
Minister of Justice Getachew Ambaye Old
Minister of Labor and Social Affairs Abdulfetah Abdulahi Hassen Old
Minister Energy, Mines & Fuel Tolessa Shagi New
Minister of Government Development Enterprises Demitu Hambissa Old
Minister of Transport Workneh Gebeyehu Old
Minister of Urban Development Mekuria Haile Old
Minister of Women, Youth and Children’s Affairs Zenebu Tadesse Old
Minister of Foreign Affairs Tedros Adhanom Old
With a Ministerial Portfolio Director General of the Ethiopian Revenues and Customs Authority Beker Shale Old
Minister of Youth and Sports Redwan Hussein Old
Minister of Construction Dr. Ambachew Mekonen New
Minster of Federal and Pastoralist Affairs Kassa Tekle Birhan Old
Minister of Livestock and Fishery Development Selieshi Getahun New
Minister of Trade Yacob Yala New
Minister of Science and Technology Abiy Ahmed New
Minister of Water, Electricity and Irrigation Motuma Mekasa New
With a Ministerial Portfolio  Government Communication Getachew Reda Old
With a Ministerial Portfolio Government  Representative in Parliament Asmelash Woldesellasie Old
With a Ministerial Portfolio Minister of National Planning Commission Dr. Yineger Yismaw New