TPLF’s 2001 split : Historic video

By De Birhan
Nov 30, 2012

The Tigray Peoples Liberation Front (TPLF) had slpit into two over ideological and policy differences in 2001. Twelve of the central committee members who led the “dissenting group” were Tewolde Woldemariam, Siye Abraha, Abay Tsehaye, Gebru Asrat, Alemseged Gebreamlak, Aregash Adane, Awalom Woldu, Gebremeskal Hailu, Hasen Shifa, Solomon Tesfay, Abraha Kahsay and Belay Bitew. The splinter group had attempted an unsuccessful coup in March 2001 against the party leader, the late Meles Zenawi. Seye Abraha and his family members with few other dissenters were arrested for over six years. 

The following video, just leaked, catches the critical moment. The medium used is Tigregna.