Court appoints Ethiopian Muslim activists and journalists to October 11

Updates 14 September 2012

The Federal First Instance Court, Arada District First Criminal Bench has appointed the members of the 17 Muslim Arbitration Committee, activists and journalists to Tekemet 1 (October 11) 2012.  All the accused were in the room in  a proceeding held amid tight security.

By De Birhan Media
13 September 2012

Members of the 17 Muslim Arbitration Committee, activists and journalists who have been imprisoned since last month did not appear as per their appointment in court for unknown reasons; they were appointed for today September 13, 2012. 

The inside and outside of the Federal First Instance Court, Arada District First Criminal Bench premises  was crowded by large number of supporters and families waiting to see the prisoners. The crowd also conducted their prayer around the court and inside the premises while waiting for the prisoners arrival.

Although they were reportedly said to be appearing in the morning , none came.  No charges have been filed against them so far; Police had requested 28 days of investigation time. 

Accoring to our source, the prisoners will appear in court tomorrow according to the orders of their imprisonment. Most members of the Committee including the Chairman, Abubeker Ahmed are expected to appear in court tomorrow September 14. A recent update instead indicated that the judge adjourned it to Monday 16 September  2012.

Meanwhile, the Ethiopian Elders Group under the leadership of  Prof.Ephraim Isaac, a world renowned Ethiopian scholar has reportedly started a mediation process between the arrested activists and the regime. According to De Birhan sources, although the Elders Group was expected to hold sessions and meetings these few days, it has been postponed for next Saturday for unexplained reasons.  

In  another development, while the ruling Ethiopian Peoples’ Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF) is set to choose its Chair and Deputy on meetings 14-15 September, 2012, other member parties of the ruling EPRDF namely Tigrayan People’s Liberation Front (TPLF) and Oromo Peoples’ Democratic Organization (OPDO) have chosen their Chairs. The late Meles Zenawi’s Deputy Chair of TPLF, Abay Woldu has been elected as the Acting Chairman of the Front while Kuma Demeksa was elected Acting Chairman of OPDO in place of Alemayehu Atomsa who is battling with a serious disease in hospital. They will be Acting Chairs for six months until another election is conducted.